LPLD Logo
Lemont Public LIbrary District
     
 
Home
Digital Collection
Computers
What's New
Calendar
Library Info
Services
Youth Services
Reference
Book Club
Friends of the Library
Last Updated: November 10, 2007

 

 

Electronic databases available at the sixteen public computers located in the adult area of the Library.
An abridged selection of databases is available from the 7 youth computers in the youth department.

PLEASE NOTE: Linked databases may also be accessed remotely.

Books/Multimedia
PrairieCat Online Catalog- You can now access the library's catalog online to search for items, renew materials, place holds, and review your account. To login to your account- your User ID is your 14-digit library card number and your PIN is the last four digits of your library card number.

First Search - Search a worldwide database for books, articles, audio/visual, etc.  You may mark a record(s) and email it to us at info@lemontlibrary.org.  An inter-library loan request will be made for the item(s) you request.  The library will call you when the item(s) come in.  Or just call/visit the library, tell us your titles, and we will order them for you.

llinet Online - to find college level books and research materials.  Patrons cannot place their own holds on materials.  Please contact the Reference Librarian at 257-6541.

business/consumer
Consumer Reports Online - in library use only. Please ask at the Reference Desk to get logged in.

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online - in library use only. Please ask at the Reference Desk to get logged in. Find money for scholarships and fellowships, emergency medical and financial needs and more.

Public Records - This database contains records of real estate transactions, including sales and foreclosures, new businesses and bankruptcies, divorces, DUI arrests, suspended & revoked licenses, and probate cases for a seven county area including: Cook, DuPage, Kane, Kendall, Lake, McHenry, and Will.

Reference USA  - Contains information for 12 million U.S. businesses.  It is useful to job seekers looking for companies and contact names; salespeople looking for leads or conducting market research; entrepreneurs searching for business opportunities or suppliers; and more.  Information may be downloaded for use in Excel spreadsheets or Word mailing labels.

Family History
America's Obituaries and Death Notices - Search for obituaries and death notices from newspapers throughout the United States.

Ancestry Library Edition- in library use only. This is a genealogical database which will appeal to new and seasoned genealogists alike.  Search through census, military, immigration records and more.

Genline Family Finder - in library use only on Public Computer #9. A database of Swedish church records from the 16th - 20th centuries. They include birth, baptismal, confirmation, marriage, death/burial, church ledgers and household examination rolls as contained at the Swedish National Archives in Stockholm.

HeritageQuest - HeritageQuest is a genealogy database that provides access to census data, family records, local histories, and more in a user friendly interface. The PERSI (Periodical Source Index) is also available.

Obituary Database - the library has created an index of names appearing in the death notices section of the local Lemont newspapers from 2005 and dating back to the late 1800s. You can type a surname into the database; if the name has been indexed, you will see the microfilm roll number indicating where the announcement may be found. For a $5.00 per name fee, we will search the microfilm, make a copy of the death notice and mail to you.

Health
PDR Electronic Library - in library use only provides access to the Physician's Desk Reference®, commonly referred to as the PDR®, the PDR for Nonprescription Drugs®, the PDR for Ophthalmology®, and Stedman's Medical Dictionary.  Also provides a database to check for drug interactions and for information on herbal medicines. For further information about this database visit http://www.micromedex.com/pdrlibrary.

Literature Aids
NoveList - to find works of fiction by topic, series, author, age or reading level

Magazine/Journal/Newspaper Articles
Article First - There are several choices here including Medline, ERIC, and The World Almanac. Many entries are abstracts only. Wilson Select Plus has many full-text articles.

Barron's Online - in library use only. Please ask at the reference desk to get logged in.

General Reference Center Gold -Find articles from academic journals, magazines, reference books, or newspapers. Many, but not all articles are full text. Some multi-media is also available on certain topics. Citation help available. You can search within the text of the article. Printing, emailing, and downloading of articles is also available.

NewsBank - Get access to these great resources:
-America's Obituaries and Death Notices
-Chicago Sun Times
-Chicago Tribune Historical Archive
-America's News Magazines

The Wall Street Journal Online - in library use only. Please ask at the reference desk to get logged in.